How do I cancel a number I’m no longer using?
Twilio phone numbers are billed on a monthly basis. Unless you are actively using a number, or you want to keep a number reserved for future use, you can reduce your costs by releasing your unused numbers.
How to release a number via the API
If you would like to release a number as part of your application’s built in logic, please see our API documentation for phone numbers.
How to release a number via the Account Portal
- Go to the “Numbers” page.
- Click on the number you would like to release.
- Look in the lower right part of the screen for a little red link that reads “Release Number”.
Once you click on this link, the number will be released and you will no longer be billed for it.
Numbers in Subaccounts
If you have set up subaccounts of your main account, the numbers which you have in your subaccounts will not appear on the “Numbers” page of your main account. You will need to go to the specific “Numbers” page for your subaccount to see these numbers.
Once you release a number it goes through a period of recycling in order to make it look as good as new for the next owner. This period lasts about 2 months, and during this period the number can be recovered by contacting Support.
It is important to keep in mind that numbers which are restored to your account in this manner will have their billing cycles restarted. Essentially, you will need to buy the number again.
Please be very sure that you know what you are doing before you release a number.