Menu

Expand
Rate this page:

Configure the Maximum Participant Duration for a Room

Twilio Video Rooms allow you to configure the maximum amount of time that a Participant can be connected to the Room. The default maximum Participant duration for Video Rooms is four hours and the maximum amount of time a Participant can be connected to a Room is 24 hours. Once a Participant has been connected to a Room for the Room's maximum Participant duration, they will be disconnected from the Room.

If you wish to configure the maximum Participant duration for you Video Rooms, you can do so in two ways: via the Twilio REST API, or via the Twilio Console.

REST API

You can configure the maximum Participant duration for Video Rooms on a per-Room basis during Room creation using the REST API. When creating the Room, you can specify the maximum Participant duration in seconds.

        
        
        

        Console

        In the Twilio Console, you can update the default maximum Participant duration for all of the Video Rooms created in your account. After you update this value in the Console, any new Rooms that you create without explicitly setting the maximum Participant duration will take this configured value.

        To update this value, navigate to Room Settings section in the Console, where you will be able to update the value. Note that the duration should be specified in seconds.

        By default, PSTN Participants are limited to a four-hour maximum duration. You can enable the 24-hour maximum duration in your Programmable Voice Settings console.

        Rate this page:

        Need some help?

        We all do sometimes; code is hard. Get help now from our support team, or lean on the wisdom of the crowd by visiting Twilio's Stack Overflow Collective or browsing the Twilio tag on Stack Overflow.

              
              
              

              Thank you for your feedback!

              Please select the reason(s) for your feedback. The additional information you provide helps us improve our documentation:

              Sending your feedback...
              🎉 Thank you for your feedback!
              Something went wrong. Please try again.

              Thanks for your feedback!

              thanks-feedback-gif